Notes to Teens about Oral Health

The ADA publishes pamphlets just for teens and two of the items caught my eye recently – oral piercings among teens and mouth guards for athletes.

I don’t see many piercings but remember oral piercings can become infected easily. Mainly, I have seen chipped teeth and gum tissue receded and bone lost from tongue studs hitting the back of the lower front teeth.

Perhaps more important to me  is the use of mouth guards for anyone in a contact sport.  Front teeth should be for smiling and whistling, not for stopping balls, bats, elbows, or sidewalks.  Breaking front teeth is preventable so consider a mouth guard for yourself or your teen.

Remember, Candy Buyback, my office, Thursday Nov. 1 from 3-5PM!

1 thought on “Notes to Teens about Oral Health

Leave a comment